Best Tax Calculator and Filing Apps for US Taxpayers in 2026
We compared seven tax calculator and filing apps on the US App Store on price, e-filing, expert help and privacy. Two estimate your tax; five file it.
Disclosure: Tax47 is our app. We built this comparison honestly, including areas where competitors have advantages. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of September 2026.
Quick answer
No single app wins here, because these seven apps do two different jobs. Tax47, listed on the App Store as Tax Calculator USA - Tax47, and Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode estimate your federal tax before you file. Neither listing claims to file a return. TurboTax: File Your Tax Return, H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes, TaxSlayer: File your taxes, Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes prepare and file one.
Tax47 shows your estimated refund or the amount to set aside, and compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill. TaxMode covers AMT, capital gains and three tax years, with Premium at $9.99 a year. TurboTax has the most US App Store ratings, 938,000, and a Free Edition for simple Form 1040 returns. H&R Block imports your W-2 through your payroll provider. TaxSlayer files your federal return free if you qualify. Keeper and FlyFin are built for freelancers, with bank-linked expense tracking and a tax pro or dedicated CPA on the return.
Many people end up using one of each: an estimator during the year, then a filing app in the spring.
Side-by-side comparison
| Feature | Tax47 | TurboTax: File Your Tax Return | H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes | TaxSlayer: File your taxes | Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses | FlyFin - 1099 Taxes | Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iPhone + Android | iPhone + Android | iOS + Android |
| US App Store rating | 4.88 (16) | 4.79 (937,997) | 4.76 (115,644) | 4.76 (20,582) | 4.78 (12,785) | 4.49 (549) | 4.51 (317) |
| Last updated | August 2026 | September 2026 | September 2026 | January 2026 | September 2026 | September 2026 | March 2026 |
| Free-tier limits | Not stated | Free Edition: simple Form 1040 returns and limited credits only | Free to start; free filers get 43 complimentary tax forms | Federal return free if you qualify: single or married, a W-2, no dependents | Not stated | Not stated | Five functions marked premium: quarterly estimates, entry options, what-if, save and load, emailed reports |
| Paid plans | Pro: $4.99 a week or billed yearly; annual entries listed from $1.99 to $29.99; 7-day free trial | Expert Assist and Expert Full Service; filing prices are not listed on the store page | A paid tax product and a Tax Pro Review add-on; filing prices are not listed on the store page | Classic, Premium and Self-Employed; filing prices are not listed on the store page | None on the App Store; Google Play shows $4.99 to $79.99 per item | None listed; filing prices are not listed on the store page | Premium Features: $9.99 for 1 year or $1.99 for 1 month |
| Files a federal return | No, it estimates before you file | Yes, federal and state | Yes, plus up to 5 state returns | Yes, federal and state e-file | Yes, with the IRS and all 50 states | Yes, your assigned CPA e-files it | Not stated |
| Tax or refund estimate | Yes, your refund or the amount to set aside, plus your effective rate | Part of preparing a return; no standalone estimator stated | Yes, a refund tracker that updates as you prepare | Not in the current description; release notes from 2019 to 2022 name a refund estimator | Yes, a real-time estimate of your tax liability | Your CPA calculates it as part of the service; no self-serve estimator stated | Yes, a year-end federal tax estimate; refund and amount owed not stated |
| State taxes | Not stated | Yes, state returns | Yes, up to 5 states | Yes; the free claim covers federal only | Yes, all 50 states | Yes, prepared by your CPA | Not stated |
| Self-employment tax | Yes, with quarterly payment estimates | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, Self-Employed edition with 1099 and Schedule C | Yes, self-employment and freelance income | Yes, 1099 and Schedule C | Yes, with FICA |
| Credits named on the listing | Child Tax Credit, Childcare Credit, EITC | EITC and Child Tax Credit, in the Free Edition terms | Child Tax Credit, Earned Income Credit, education credits | Education credits; Classic claims all deductions and credits | None named; claims 300+ checks for every credit and deduction | Not stated | Child Tax Credit, Child and Dependent credit, Earned Income Credit |
| One Big Beautiful Bill changes | Yes, compares your taxes before and after the law, with tip, overtime and car loan interest deductions | Not stated | In release notes for 2025 returns, December 2025 to March 2026 only | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, updated for the Act, covering tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024 |
| Saved scenarios and what-if | Yes, save multiple calculations to compare | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, side-by-side what-if and save and load, on Premium |
| Tax document import | Not stated | Yes, photo, upload or direct import from employers and financial institutions | Yes, W-2 through your payroll provider, document photos, last year’s return | Last year’s return | Last year’s return | Yes, upload your 1040, 1099s and Schedule C | Not stated |
| Human tax help | Not stated | Yes, tax experts on demand; unlimited with Expert Assist and Expert Full Service | Yes, tax pros with a paid product | Yes, tax pros on Premium and Self-Employed, and enrolled agents for audit help on Premium | Yes, in-house tax pros sign off on every return | Yes, a dedicated CPA | Not stated |
| Multiple jobs / profiles | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Several income sources and entity types; separate profiles not stated | Not stated |
| Quarterly estimated tax | Yes, in the self-employment calculator | Not stated | Not stated | Payment reminders and vouchers, on Self-Employed | Not stated | Yes, AI and CPAs help calculate it | Yes, with 1040-ES support, on Premium |
| Expense tracking with bank link | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, banks and credit cards, year-round | Yes, AI finds write-offs; bank linking through Plaid | Not stated |
| Export | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Printing referenced; no format named | Not stated | Not stated | Emailed reports on Premium; plan data import and export |
| Languages | 1 | 2 (English, Spanish) | 1 | 2 (English, Spanish) | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Ads | App Store: none declared; Google Play: Contains ads | Contains advertising, per its App Store age rating; Google Play does not flag ads | No | No | No, per its listing | No | Yes, per Google Play and its privacy label |
| Account required | No | Not stated | Yes, sign-in | Yes, sign-in | Yes, implied by the listing | Yes, for your CPA and e-sign | Not stated |
| Data stays on device | Yes, runs its calculations on the device, with no account | No, the return follows you across devices | No, returns live in your account | No, returns live in your account | No, stored by Keeper and linked to your bank | No, documents go to the CPA service | Not stated |
| Privacy label | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers | Data Used to Track You: Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data | Data Used to Track You: Contact Info, Identifiers | No data used to track you; Financial Info and Sensitive Info linked to you | Data Used to Track You: Usage Data | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers |
The apps
1. Tax47
Tax47 Our Pick
Tax47 is a federal tax estimator. You enter your income and the federal tax already withheld. It shows your estimated refund or, if you owe, how much to set aside before the deadline, along with your effective tax rate. The listing covers tax brackets, standard and itemized deductions, SALT, qualified business income, Social Security taxation, and the Child Tax Credit, Childcare Credit and Earned Income Tax Credit. Three more calculators sit beside the refund estimate. One compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill (P.L. 119-21), including the deductions for tips, overtime and car loan interest on US-assembled vehicles. One checks EITC eligibility and amount. One works out self-employment tax, with quarterly payment estimates.
You can save multiple calculations to compare a raise, a new job or a change to your withholding. A March 2026 update added a Tax Break Finder that shows which deductions and credits apply to you, plus student loan interest and home office deductions for self-employed filers. Tax47 needs no account and runs its calculations on the device. Its privacy label reads “Data Used to Track You: Identifiers.” It is on iPhone, iPad and Android and was updated in August 2026. Tax47 does not file a return. It estimates before you file, so you still need a filing app or another route in the spring. It has 4.88 stars from 16 US App Store ratings, the smallest rating base on this page.
Pros
- Shows your estimated refund, or how much to set aside if you owe
- Compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill, including tip, overtime and car loan interest deductions
- Self-employment tax with quarterly estimates, plus Child Tax Credit and EITC math
- Saved scenarios, no account, and calculations that run on the device
Cons
- It does not file a return
- 4.88 from only 16 US App Store ratings
- The listing does not say which features are free and which need Pro, and it does not mention state taxes
- English only
Pricing: Free to download. Pro is $4.99 a week or billed yearly, and the App Store lists annual Pro entries from $1.99 to $29.99. 7-day free trial.
Best for: people who want to know their refund or balance due, and how the One Big Beautiful Bill changes it, before they file.
2. TurboTax: File Your Tax Return by Intuit Inc.
TurboTax: File Your Tax Return
TurboTax: File Your Tax Return prepares and files federal and state returns, and it has been on the App Store since 2014. It has more US App Store ratings than any other app here, 938,000 at 4.79. Free Edition lists $0 federal and $0 state returns for “simple Form 1040 returns and limited credits only,” with no forms or schedules beyond the Earned Income Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit, student loan interest and Schedule 1-A. The listing adds that the offer may change or end at any time without notice. You can snap a photo of your documents, upload them, or import forms directly from your employer or financial institution, and the app fills in your details.
Tax experts are available on demand, and unlimited access comes with Expert Assist and Expert Full Service. You can also hand off your taxes to a local expert who prepares your return from start to finish. The app runs in English and Spanish, and you can get your federal refund up to 5 days early for a fee. The store page gives no price for any paid product. The listing names no standalone estimator or saved scenarios, and it does not mention self-employment or the One Big Beautiful Bill. Its App Store age rating shows Contains Advertising, though Google Play does not flag ads. Its privacy label declares Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you. Recent reviewers say a free filing ended in a charge or a forced upgrade, and that support is hard to reach.
Pros
- The most US App Store ratings here, 938,000 at 4.79
- Free Edition files simple Form 1040 returns at $0 federal and $0 state
- Document photos, uploads and direct import from employers and financial institutions
- On-demand tax experts or full service, in English or Spanish
Cons
- No prices on the store page for Expert Assist, Expert Full Service or the early refund fee
- Free Edition stops at simple Form 1040 returns and limited credits
- No standalone estimate or what-if scenarios on the listing
- Contains advertising, per its App Store age rating, and a privacy label declaring Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you
Pricing: Free to download. Free Edition is $0 federal and $0 state for simple Form 1040 returns and limited credits only, and the offer may change or end at any time. Filing prices for paid products are not listed on the store page.
Best for: filers with a simple Form 1040 return, or anyone who wants an expert to prepare the whole return.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs TurboTax: File Your Tax Return
3. H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes by HRB Tax Group, Inc.
H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes
H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes prepares and files federal returns, plus up to 5 state returns for people who travel for work. It has been on the App Store since 2012 and has 4.76 stars from 115,600 US ratings. You can start for free and prepare a return “without paying a dime upfront,” and free filers get 43 complimentary tax forms, including student loan interest, tuition and fees, Social Security income and unemployment income. The listing names the Child Tax Credit, Earned Income Credit, education credits, investment income and capital gains.
It does a lot of the typing for you. You can import your W-2 through your payroll provider, snap photos of tax documents, or upload last year’s return, which the listing says fills in up to 80 fields. A refund tracker updates as you work, and email and push alerts follow the return after filing. Chat with tax pros and AI Tax assist need a paid tax product. Tax Pro Review, where a tax expert reviews, signs and files the return, is an extra fee. No prices appear on the store page. The One Big Beautiful Bill shows up in release notes from December 2025 to March 2026, not in the description. The listing does not mention self-employment. It shows no ads on either store, needs a sign-in, and its privacy label declares Contact Info and Identifiers used to track you. Reviewers say it is easy to use. A recurring complaint is about being pushed into paid upgrades and add-ons.
Pros
- Up to 5 state returns filed with your federal return
- W-2 import through your payroll provider, document photos, and last year’s return
- A refund tracker while you prepare, plus alerts after filing
- No ads on either store
Cons
- Tax-pro chat, AI Tax assist and Tax Pro Review cost extra, with no prices on the store page
- Self-employment is not mentioned on the listing
- The One Big Beautiful Bill appears only in past release notes
- English only, and a sign-in is required
Pricing: Free to start, and free filers get 43 complimentary tax forms. A paid tax product unlocks unlimited help, and Tax Pro Review is an additional fee. Filing prices are not listed on the store page.
Best for: W-2 earners who want their forms imported, and people filing in several states.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes
4. TaxSlayer: File your taxes by TaxSlayer LLC
TaxSlayer: File your taxes
TaxSlayer: File your taxes prepares and e-files federal and state returns. It has been on the App Store since 2013 and has 4.76 stars from 20,600 US ratings. You can “start, prepare, and file your federal tax return for free if you qualify,” and the free edition, Simply Free, is aimed at single or married filers with a W-2 and no dependents. The paid editions are Classic, with all deductions and credits and all income types; Premium, which adds Ask a Tax Pro and live chat; and Self-Employed, with 1099 and Schedule C guidance, tax payment reminders and payment vouchers.
Phone and email support are included on every edition, and you can choose to have the filing fees deducted from your federal refund. The listing offers a 100% accuracy guarantee and a maximum refund guarantee. The app imports last year’s return, compares this year with last before you file, and runs in English and Spanish. No prices appear on the store page, and the free claim covers the federal return only. The app was last updated in January 2026. It shows no ads, and its privacy label declares no data used to track you. Reviewers say it is easy to use and cheaper than TurboTax. Others say they expected free filing and were charged, and that the app would not download or print their finished return.
Pros
- Free federal filing if you qualify, for simple W-2 returns without dependents
- A Self-Employed edition with 1099 and Schedule C guidance and payment reminders
- Phone and email support on every edition, and fees can come out of your federal refund
- No ads, no data used to track you, and English and Spanish
Cons
- No edition or state prices on the store page
- Last updated in January 2026
- The One Big Beautiful Bill is not named on the listing
- Reviewers say finished returns will not download or print in the app
Pricing: Federal filing is free if you qualify. Classic, Premium and Self-Employed are paid editions, and fees can be deducted from your federal refund. Filing prices are not listed on the store page.
Best for: simple W-2 returns that qualify for free federal filing, and self-employed filers who want a do-it-yourself edition with support included.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs TaxSlayer: File your taxes
5. Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses by Keeper Tax Inc.
Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses Top Rated
Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses, which its description calls Keeper, pairs tax filing with year-round expense tracking. It carries Top Rated here, which takes a little explaining. Among apps with at least 1,000 ratings, TurboTax’s 4.79 is the highest, but TurboTax already carries the Most Rated badge, so Top Rated goes to the runner-up: Keeper, at 4.78 from 12,800 US ratings. You connect your bank accounts and credit cards to track deductible expenses through the year, get a real-time estimate of your tax liability, and file with the IRS and all 50 states. The listing covers self-employment and freelance income, S-Corps, rental properties, K-1s, investments and stock options.
In-house tax pros review and sign off on every return. You can also book a video call with a dedicated tax expert, and an AI tax assistant answers questions 24/7. The listing claims 300+ checks and says smart audit protection is included. The price is harder to pin down. The App Store lists no in-app purchases and the description names no price, while Google Play shows $4.99 to $79.99 per item. It is iPhone only on iOS, English only, and shows no ads, per its listing. Its privacy label declares Usage Data used to track you. Reviewers say it suits 1099 workers and praise the expense tracking. Recurring complaints cover surprise charges, support that is hard to reach, and problems with the expense tracking.
Pros
- 4.78 from 12,800 US App Store ratings, second only to TurboTax among apps with 1,000+ ratings
- Bank and card connection for year-round deduction tracking
- Files with the IRS and all 50 states, with a tax pro signing off on every return
- Handles freelance income, S-Corps, rental properties and K-1s
Cons
- No prices on the App Store page; Google Play shows only a $4.99 to $79.99 range
- iPhone only on iOS, and English only
- Privacy label declares Usage Data used to track you
- No tax year or One Big Beautiful Bill named on the listing
Pricing: Free to download. The App Store page lists no plans or prices, and Google Play shows in-app purchases of $4.99 to $79.99 per item with no plan names. Filing prices are not listed on the store page.
Best for: freelancers and 1099 workers who want expenses tracked all year and a tax pro to sign off on the return.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses
6. FlyFin - 1099 Taxes by AI FlyFin Inc
FlyFin - 1099 Taxes
FlyFin - 1099 Taxes is a CPA filing service with an expense tracker attached, built for freelancers, self-employed people, business owners, and 1099 and W-2 workers. Its AI scans your expenses for write-offs, with bank linking through Plaid. You upload last year’s 1040, your 1099 forms and Schedule C so the AI can fill in your tax information. A dedicated CPA then prepares your federal and state returns for your review and e-sign, and e-files them. The listing covers sole proprietors, LLCs, S-Corps and K-1s, and says the AI and CPAs help you calculate your quarterly tax.
You can ask your CPA unlimited tax questions or book a Zoom call in the app. The listing includes full audit insurance at no cost and a 100% money-back guarantee “if you are dissatisfied with the service & don’t want our CPAs to prepare your returns.” The store page lists no in-app purchases and no prices. It has 4.49 stars from 549 US ratings. It is iPhone only on iOS, was updated in September 2026, and shows no ads. Its privacy label declares Identifiers used to track you. Reviewers praise the assigned CPA and the AI that sorts expenses into write-offs. Billing and free-trial complaints also recur, mostly in reviews from 2022 to early 2025.
Pros
- A dedicated CPA prepares, reviews and e-files your federal and state returns
- AI finds write-offs in your expenses, with bank linking through Plaid
- Quarterly tax help, and entities from sole proprietors to S-Corps
- Audit insurance at no cost, and no ads
Cons
- No plans or prices on the store page
- iPhone only on iOS, and English only
- The CPA calculates your tax as part of the service; there is no self-serve estimator on the listing
- Privacy label declares Identifiers used to track you
Pricing: Free to download. The store page lists no in-app purchases, and filing prices are not listed on the store page.
Best for: self-employed filers who want a CPA to do the return and are comfortable linking their bank accounts.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs FlyFin - 1099 Taxes
7. Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode by Sawhney Systems, Inc.
Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode Best Value
Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode is the other estimator on this page, a federal tax planning app on the App Store since 2012. It covers tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024, and it is the only listing here that names 2026. It also says it is updated for the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, including the overtime, tip and seniors’ deductions and the SALT changes. Its listed computations include AMT, net investment income tax, additional Medicare tax, capital gains rates, qualified business income, self-employment tax and FICA, and the Child Tax Credit and Earned Income Credit. It shows values for major IRS forms, with a pie chart and reports.
It takes Best Value because it is the only competitor with priced plans on its App Store page, and the price is low: Premium Features cost $9.99 for 1 year or $1.99 for 1 month. The listing marks five functions as premium: quarterly estimates with 1040-ES support, summary or detailed entry, side-by-side what-if comparison, save and load, and emailed reports. The rest carry no premium mark. The listing makes no filing claim and never mentions refunds, withholding or state income tax. It was last updated on iOS in March 2026. Google Play shows Contains ads, and its App Store privacy label declares Identifiers used to track you and for Third-Party Advertising. Reviewers going back years say it is easy to use and good for planning before filing. Other reviewers report calculation errors, and some recent ones point at the senior deduction.
Pros
- Premium is $9.99 a year or $1.99 a month, printed on the store page
- Covers tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024, updated for the One Big Beautiful Bill Act
- AMT, capital gains, QBI, net investment income tax and self-employment tax
- Side-by-side what-if comparison and saved plans on Premium
Cons
- No refund, withholding or state tax on the listing
- What-if, save and load, and quarterly estimates all need Premium
- Contains ads on Google Play, and a privacy label declaring Identifiers used to track you
- Last updated on iOS in March 2026
Pricing: Free to download. Premium Features are $9.99 for 1 year or $1.99 for 1 month, and the listing does not say whether they renew.
Best for: planners who want detailed federal math across three tax years for under $10 a year.
Read the full comparison: Tax47 vs Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode
Which one should you pick?
Pick Tax47 if you want your refund or amount owed before you file, a before-and-after view of the One Big Beautiful Bill, and saved scenarios, with no account.
Pick TurboTax: File Your Tax Return if your return is a simple Form 1040 that fits Free Edition, or you want an expert to prepare the whole thing.
Pick H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes if you want your W-2 imported from payroll, a refund tracker as you work, and up to 5 state returns.
Pick TaxSlayer: File your taxes if you qualify for free federal filing, or you are self-employed and want a do-it-yourself edition with phone and email support.
Pick Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses if you freelance and want expenses tracked from your bank all year, with a tax pro signing off on the return.
Pick FlyFin - 1099 Taxes if you would rather hand the return to a dedicated CPA and let AI sort your expenses.
Pick Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode if you want detailed federal planning math across 2026, 2025 and 2024 for $9.99 a year.
Estimating and filing are different jobs, and plenty of people use one app for each. If you want a number before you download anything, our free tax refund estimator and self-employment tax calculator run in the browser with no account.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app to estimate or file US taxes?
It depends on what you need. Tax47 and Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode estimate your federal tax before you file, and neither listing claims to file a return. Tax47 shows your refund or the amount to set aside and compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill. TaxMode covers tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024, with Premium at $9.99 a year. TurboTax: File Your Tax Return has the most US App Store ratings, 938,000 at 4.79, and a Free Edition for simple Form 1040 returns. H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes imports your W-2 through your payroll provider and files up to 5 state returns. TaxSlayer: File your taxes files your federal return free if you qualify. Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes are built for freelancers, with bank-linked expense tracking and a tax pro or a dedicated CPA on the return.
Which of these tax apps are actually free?
TurboTax: File Your Tax Return lists $0 federal and $0 state returns on Free Edition, for simple Form 1040 returns and limited credits only, and says the offer may change or end at any time. TaxSlayer: File your taxes files your federal return free if you qualify, and its free edition is aimed at single or married filers with a W-2 and no dependents. H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes is free to start, and free filers get 43 complimentary tax forms, while help from tax pros needs a paid product. Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode marks five functions as premium, sold at $9.99 a year or $1.99 a month. Tax47 is free to download, and Pro is $4.99 a week or billed yearly, with annual Pro entries listed from $1.99 to $29.99 and a 7-day free trial. Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes are free to download, and their App Store pages list no prices.
Which tax apps cover the One Big Beautiful Bill changes?
Tax47 compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill (P.L. 119-21), including the deductions for tips, overtime and car loan interest on US-assembled vehicles. Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode says it is updated for the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, with the overtime, tip and seniors' deductions and the SALT changes, and it is the only listing here that names tax year 2026. H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes mentioned the law in release notes for 2025 returns between December 2025 and March 2026, but its description does not. The listings for TurboTax: File Your Tax Return, TaxSlayer: File your taxes, Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes do not name the law.
Can Tax47 or Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode file my tax return?
No. Tax47 estimates your federal tax before you file and does not e-file. Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode is a planning app whose listing describes pre-tax-return analysis and makes no filing claim. To file, you need a filing app such as TurboTax: File Your Tax Return, H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes, TaxSlayer: File your taxes, Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses or FlyFin - 1099 Taxes. Many people use one of each: an estimator during the year and a filing app in the spring.
Which apps work best for 1099 and self-employed filers?
Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes are built around self-employment. Keeper tracks deductible expenses from your linked bank accounts and cards all year, and its in-house tax pros review every return. FlyFin uses AI to find write-offs and has a dedicated CPA prepare and e-file your federal and state returns. TaxSlayer: File your taxes sells a Self-Employed edition with 1099 and Schedule C guidance and tax payment reminders. Tax47 and Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode both estimate self-employment tax and quarterly payments, with TaxMode's quarterly estimates on Premium. The listings for TurboTax: File Your Tax Return and H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes do not mention self-employment.
Do I need an account to use these tax apps?
Tax47 needs no account and runs its calculations on the device. H&R Block Tax Prep: File Taxes and TaxSlayer: File your taxes ask you to sign in, and FlyFin - 1099 Taxes needs an account for your CPA, your uploads and e-signing. Keeper: Tax Filing & Expenses implies one, since it stores your financial data and connects to your bank. The listings for TurboTax: File Your Tax Return and Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode do not say either way.