Tax47 vs Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode
Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode is a tax planning app for tax years 2024 to 2026. See how it compares with Tax47 on refunds, tax years, and pricing.
Disclosure: Tax47 is our app. This comparison is written honestly, including the places where TaxMode is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store via the iTunes Search API, as of September 2026. Google Play figures are labeled as such.
Quick answer
Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode by Sawhney Systems, Inc., listed on Google Play as TaxMode: Income Tax Calculator, is an income tax planning app that has been on the App Store since 2012. It covers tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024 on iPhone, iPad and Android, and computes AMT, net investment income tax, and capital gains next to the One Big Beautiful Bill deductions. The catch: quarterly estimates, what-if comparisons, and saving your data are premium, and its listing never mentions a refund or withholding.
Tax47, listed on the App Store as Tax Calculator USA - Tax47, compares your federal tax bill with the tax already withheld from your paychecks and shows the refund you can expect or the amount to set aside. It is free to download, with a Pro tier and a 7-day free trial.
Both apps estimate federal tax before you file. Neither listing says it files a return, so you would still file with a filing app or a preparer. If you want three tax years in one place, investment income, and IRS form values behind the numbers, pick Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode. If you want to know whether you will get money back or owe, pick Tax47. Both apps also appear in our roundup of tax calculator apps.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Tax47 | Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android (iPhone and iPad) | iOS + Android (iPhone and iPad) |
| US App Store rating | 4.88 (16 ratings) | 4.51 (317 ratings) |
| Google Play rating | 4.4 (10 reviews), 100+ downloads | 4.4 (313 reviews), 50K+ downloads |
| Last updated | August 2026 | March 2026 on iOS, August 2026 on Android |
| Free-tier limits | Not stated | Five functions marked premium; the rest of the feature list is unmarked |
| Paid plans | Pro $4.99 a week or billed yearly; annual entries listed from $1.99 to $29.99; 7-day free trial | Premium Features $1.99 for 1 month or $9.99 for 1 year; trial not stated |
| Files your return | No, it estimates before you file | Not stated; the listing describes pre-tax-return-filing analysis |
| Tax years covered | Not stated | 2026, 2025 and 2024 |
| Refund or amount owed | Yes, from the federal tax withheld from your paychecks | Not stated; the listing reports total tax and taxes saved or added |
| Withholding check | Yes | Not stated |
| One Big Beautiful Bill changes | Yes, compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill (P.L. 119-21), with tips, overtime, and car loan interest deductions | Yes, with seniors’ deduction, SALT, tips, and overtime, plus car loan interest (added February 2026) |
| Credits | Child Tax Credit, Childcare Credit, Earned Income Tax Credit with phase position | Child Tax Credit, Child and Dependent credit, Earned Income Credit |
| Self-employment tax | Yes, Social Security, Medicare, and additional Medicare tax | Yes, plus FICA and qualified business income deductions |
| Quarterly estimated payments | Yes, in the self-employment calculator | Yes, premium, with IRS 1040-ES form support |
| AMT, net investment income tax, capital gains rates | Not stated | Yes, including the qualified dividends and capital gain worksheet |
| Deductions | Standard and itemized, SALT, qualified business income | Standard and itemized, with automatic limits on medical, investment interest, and charitable contributions |
| Social Security benefit taxation | Yes | Not stated |
| Shows the math behind each figure | Not stated | Yes, values for major IRS forms, with worksheet detail since February 2026 |
| Saved scenarios and what-if | Yes, save multiple calculations to compare scenarios | Yes, premium: save and load data, side-by-side what-if |
| State income tax | Not stated | Not stated |
| Multiple jobs / profiles | Not stated | Not stated |
| Export | Not stated | Emailed results and reports (premium), plus import and export of plan data; no file formats named |
| Languages | 1 (English) | 1 (English) |
| Ads | App Store: none declared; Google Play: Contains ads | Yes on Google Play (Contains ads); its App Store privacy label declares Identifiers used for Third-Party Advertising |
| Account required | No | Not stated |
| Data stays on device | Yes, runs its calculations on the device, with no account | Not stated |
| Privacy label | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers. Data Not Linked to You: Identifiers, Usage Data, Purchases | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers. Data Not Linked to You: Identifiers |
Where Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode wins
Three tax years, named in the listing. TaxMode includes tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024, and its March 2026 release notes say the same. The 2026 tax year was added in an October 2025 update, so you can look back at 2024 and 2025 and plan 2026 without switching apps. Tax47’s store listing does not list the tax years it covers; its OBBB calculator compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill.
More of the tax code. TaxMode runs an automatic AMT check and computes net investment income tax, additional Medicare tax, and capital gains tax through the qualified dividends and capital gain worksheet. Itemized deductions get automatic limits for medical expenses, investment interest, and charitable contributions, and its One Big Beautiful Bill list adds the seniors’ deduction and the charitable limit for the 37% bracket. It also shows values for major IRS forms, and release notes since February 2026 add IRS worksheet detail for SALT plus supporting detail for tips, overtime, and car loan interest. Tax47’s listing doesn’t mention AMT, net investment income tax, capital gains rates, or the seniors’ deduction.
Premium is cheap, and the listing says what it covers. Five functions are marked premium: quarterly estimates with IRS 1040-ES support, summary or detailed data entry, side-by-side what-if comparison, saving and loading data, and emailing results and reports. The rest of the feature list is unmarked. Premium Features costs $1.99 for 1 month or $9.99 for 1 year. Tax47’s store page does not spell out what its free tier includes or what Pro unlocks.
A longer record. TaxMode has been on the App Store since 2012 and sits at 4.51 from 317 US ratings, compared with Tax47’s 4.88 from 16. On Google Play it has 4.4 stars from 313 reviews and 50K+ downloads. Reviewers say it is simple to use and that tapping a number shows the calculation behind it, though most of that praise predates 2020. Reviewers also report calculation errors. Some recent reviewers say the new seniors’ deduction came out wrong, and one says the Child Tax Credit did.
Where Tax47 wins
It answers the refund question. Tax47 takes your annual income and the federal tax already withheld from your paychecks, applies eligible credits, and compares the two. You see your estimated refund, or how much to set aside before the deadline, plus your effective tax rate. It also checks whether you withheld enough. TaxMode’s listing talks about total tax, taxes saved, and increases in tax liability, but never a refund, an amount owed, or withholding.
Social Security benefits are in scope. Tax47’s listing includes Social Security taxation, which matters if part of your benefits may be taxable. TaxMode’s listing doesn’t mention Social Security benefits, though it does include the seniors’ deduction, which Tax47’s listing doesn’t.
No account, calculations on the device. Tax47 requires no account and runs its calculations on the device. TaxMode’s listing does not say whether you need an account or where your saved plans are kept. Both privacy labels declare Identifiers used to track you, so neither app wins on that line.
Pricing
- Tax47 is free to download. Pro is $4.99 a week or billed yearly, and the App Store lists annual Pro entries from $1.99 to $29.99. There’s a 7-day free trial. The store page doesn’t spell out what the free tier includes or what Pro unlocks.
- Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode by Sawhney Systems is free to download. Quarterly estimates, summary or detailed data entry, what-if comparison, saving and loading data, and emailed reports are premium. Premium Features costs $1.99 for 1 month or $9.99 for 1 year. The listing doesn’t mention a trial, and it doesn’t say whether either purchase renews automatically or whether Premium removes ads. Paying for premium is a recurring complaint in reviews, mostly older ones: a purchase not honored, a paywall surprise, data lost at renewal.
A full year of TaxMode Premium is $9.99, while Tax47’s annual Pro entries on the App Store run from $1.99 to $29.99. If you only need it around tax time, one month of TaxMode Premium at $1.99 costs less than one week of Tax47 Pro at $4.99.
Which one should you pick?
Pick Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode if you want tax years 2024, 2025 and 2026 in one app, you have capital gains, investment income, or AMT exposure, you want to see the IRS worksheet behind a number, or you want a paid tier that costs $9.99 a year with the premium functions listed up front.
Pick Tax47 if your question is whether you will get a refund or owe, and you want the answer from your actual withholding, with credits like the EITC and your effective tax rate shown along the way. It covers self-employment tax with quarterly estimates and Social Security taxation, and it needs no account.
To check either app’s numbers before you pay for anything, our free tax refund estimator and estimated quarterly tax calculator run in the browser with no download and no account.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode cost?
It is free to download. Five functions are premium: quarterly estimates with IRS 1040-ES support, summary or detailed data entry, side-by-side what-if comparison, saving and loading data, and emailing results and reports. Premium Features costs $1.99 for 1 month or $9.99 for 1 year, and the listing does not say whether either renews automatically. Tax47 is free to download. Pro is $4.99 a week or billed yearly, and the App Store lists annual Pro entries from $1.99 to $29.99. 7-day free trial.
Which tax years does Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode cover?
Its listing says it includes tax years 2026, 2025 and 2024, and its March 2026 release notes say the same. Tax47's store listing does not list the tax years it covers. Its OBBB calculator compares your taxes before and after the One Big Beautiful Bill (P.L. 119-21).
Does Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode show your refund or how much you owe?
Its listing does not say so. It describes total tax, taxes saved, or an increase in tax liability, and never mentions a refund, an amount owed, or withholding. Tax47 is built around that question. You enter your income and the federal tax withheld from your paychecks, and it shows your estimated refund or how much to set aside before the deadline.
Does Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode handle AMT and capital gains?
Yes. Its listing includes an automatic AMT check, net investment income tax, additional Medicare tax, and capital gains tax through the qualified dividends and capital gain worksheet. Tax47's listing covers brackets, standard and itemized deductions, SALT, qualified business income, credits, self-employment tax, and Social Security taxation, but it does not mention AMT, net investment income tax, or capital gains rates.
Can Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode or Tax47 file my tax return?
Neither listing says it files or e-files a return. TaxMode describes itself as a tool for tax planning and pre-tax-return-filing analysis, and Tax47 estimates where you stand before filing. To file, you would use a filing app or a tax preparer, and either estimator helps you check the numbers first.
Does Income Tax Calculator: TaxMode calculate state income tax?
Its listing does not say so. The SALT line in its feature list is the federal itemized deduction for state and local taxes, not a state income tax calculation. Tax47's listing does not mention state income tax either. Both work with federal figures.